What is Your Love Language?

A practical exercise of spirituality is only one that puts ideas into action. Knowledge devoid of motion does not exist outside the physical brain. Spiritual wisdom is only achieved when knowledge (concepts and ideals) reach the heart and is then put into action through our daily activities among others. This is why there is no mature spirituality outside the exercise of love. This is why to love one another is such a great commandment.  Yet, we often fall into the exercise of spirituality more in books and temples than in our multiple relationships. We discussed the importance of relationships in a previous post (link through the picture below). Today, however, we’d like to present something we find to be remarkable to the quality of one of the most important relationships we might have – our conjugal life.

Relationship domains
Spirituality in Multiple Relationship Domains

We say, remarkable, because it is not always obvious that love means something completely different to all of us. “Seldom do a husband and wife have the same primary emotional love language. We tend to speak our primary love language, and we become confused when our spouse does not understand what we are communicating. We are expressing our love, but the message does not come through because we are speaking what, to them, is a foreign language.”[1]

The concept of multiple Love Languages has been first proposed by Gary D. Chapman in his book “The Five Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts”. This book has been a bestseller for years and there is plenty of resources about it throughout the internet. Therefore, our intent is not to discuss the book’s ideas once more, but simply to suggest that if you feel you need to add focus to this relationship domain, you might consider giving this reading a try!

If you prefer, search for resources on this book online and you’ll find a great deal of materials. For instance, you might like to start with the web page listed under references below, from where we obtained this post’s featured image. It contains a very good overview on this topic! So, learn about your primary love languages and those of your partner and consider which changes might benefit your relationship. Knowledge is an important step but practice is the true goal here!

Love, light and peace to all!!


  1. Chapman, Gary D. The Five Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts (pp. 15-17). Moody Publishers. Kindle Edition.
  2. http://www.dnrclub.com/2016/09/22/what-is-your-love-language-part-1/” (accessed on 11/26/2017).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s